Recognizing Workplace Conflict – Week 9

Unfortunately conflict is something we cannot avoid in our day to day lives, whether it be in the workforce or anywhere else. At some point during a hard day’s work we might feel unhappy with an outcome or displeased with someone and if we seek to take action over this, its causes a conflict.  There are a few main types of conflicts in the workforce that are common not matter what job it is.

  • Conflict over different decisions or actions for the business
  • A difference in personalities between co-workers or a boss.
  • A conflict or issue with a boss
  • Conflict over different opinions

“There are broadly two kinds of workplace conflict: when people’s ideas, decisions or actions relating directly to the job are in opposition, or when two people just don’t get along. The latter is often called ‘a personality clash’.” (Betterhealth.vic.gov.au)

Coming across a conflict is not uncommon, especially if the person working doesn’t enjoy their job. Personally I come across lots of conflict with my job because I face the same people every day and are continuously doing the same thing. I work in the hospitality industry/customer service and has definitely made my patience shorter. I feel as if I react to things too quickly and it may not necessarily be the best choice of action. I wouldn’t say I dislike my job, I just come across too much conflict to enjoy it in the whole.

A few days ago a lady came into my shop claiming that someone had given her too much change back. As I do not work on the register often, I put through her order again to find out how much change she should have received. While doing this, she told me that I need to take $10 back from her. But because I was taking my time to make sure she wasn’t giving me back to much of her money to me, she suddenly snapped at me and said, “I don’t have to be doing this you know”. Because I was so flustered by this ladies comment, I tried to explain that I was doing but it came out wrong and I ended up saying, “I’m only making sure that it was the right change”. She scoffed and looked at the lady next in line to her, who also added a comment saying how rude I was.

It’s hard to determine what kind of mood you’re going to be in at work until you face a conflict. You can affect your colleague’s moods just by making it known that you’re angry/upset and this can alter their performance at work. After the conflict I had the other day, I went out into the back room and cried because I didn’t know how to handle it and for the rest of that day was in a bad mood.

References

2015, Work relationships, Workplace conflict, viewed 21st may 2015, http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Workplace_conflict

Jun 3rd 2010, Management, Managing workplace conflict, viewed 21st may 2015, http://www.executivestyle.com.au/managing-workplace-conflict-x13q

Leave a Reply

